Leave a comment

Easy Risotto w/Oxtail & Butternut Squash

I just made this for dinner tonight and didn’t intend to blog about it, but it was so good I decided to tell you all about it. I think this is my first food blog. I snapped the pic with my phone as I was sitting down to eat.

This meal came together out of one of those “hmmm, what can I make” moments when groceries were low.

A couple nights ago I made hamburgers by combining oxtail, sirloin, and brisket. There was a lot of meat left on the bones of the oxtail so I boiled it for a few hours and then pulled the meat with a fork.

So I thought it would be great to combine this with some butternut squash risotto. I’m gonna tell you how I did it and you can look at the instructions on the risotto package for specifics.

First you saute some garlic and onion with butter and olive oil in a large round deep pan. (I keep a bag of diced onions in the freezer so it’s easy and handy.)

Add 2 cups Arborrio Rice

Stir a few minutes to toast.

Set timer for 18 mins.

Add 1 cup White Wine Chardonnay (Remember it has to be good enough to drink to use for cooking.)

Stir constantly until liquid is absorbed.

Add 1 quart chicken broth (add one ladle at a time. You may not use all the broth. Don’t overcook. Use enough broth to cook the rice.) Stir constantly.

When there’s about 6-7 mins remaining add 1lb frozen chopped butternut squash. (You can use fresh, but I’m keeping it simple.)

After the squash is warmed up,

Add your oxtail meat.

Add salt, pepper, and sage.

Enjoy. Careful it’s hot.

P.S. My kids ages 1, 2, 4 loved it too.

Leave a Reply

